Effective, June 1, 2024, the Cub Scout program will be updated to ensure that Cub Scouting is Fun, Simple, and Easy. Fun for Cub Scouts, parents, and leaders. Simple to understand and explain. Easy to deliver as designed.

The National Cub Scouting Committee has identified four areas to improve the Cub Scout program to ensure that it is fun, simple, and easy. These updates are based on feedback from over 23,000 parents and Cub Scout leaders through various surveys and data. As these surveys were reviewed, the committee identified key opportunities to improve the Cub Scout program. The Naional Cub Scout Committee has been reaching out to thousands of individuals over the past year to get their thoughts on these changes and they have received an overwhelmingly positive response. 

Be sure to check back for updates and the latest information. 

Information provided is subject to change prior to the implementation date.

Cub Scout program changes go into effect on June 1, 2024.

BSA Resources

The official BSA Cub Scout Program page. The most current updates are posted here.

Cub Chat Live! Join the Cub Chat Live broadcast on Facebook every Friday at Noon Pacific. A place to ask questions and get answers. 

On the go? Listen to an audio-only version of #CubChatLive. This podcast is available by searching for “CubChatLive” on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, or your favorite podcast platform.

Slides and speaker notes from March 2024 outlining the program changes and updates.

FAQs about the updated Cub Scout program.

Updated Cub Scout Handbooks
Now Available

Visit the Everett Service Center Trading Post or send an email to [email protected].

What's Changed?


One of the biggest changes in the new program is the structure of Adventures. Each level of Cub Scouts will now have SIX required and TWO elective adventures in order to earn rank. 

The Bobcat Badge no longer exists separately, but you’ll find the elements of the Bobcat incorporated into the planned first adventure for each level.

A portion of the common electives for each rank will now be available at all levels with age-appropriate requirements This means, you’ll have more opportunity for multi-level Den and Pack level advancements. Allowing groups to work on these items at the same time.

Required electives for each level.

You’ll notice a new consistency in topic across each row of the chart.

When people think Cub Scouts what do they think? Fishing, Pinewood Derby, Bicycling, Camping, Swimming, and Conservation. All the fun parts!

In previous versions, these adventures didn’t exist or were only part of one Cub level. Now, every level is involved in all activities.

Pinewood Derby? Now an Adventure Loop/Pin!

Learn More

Looking for a preview of the adventures? Check the graphic to the right.

Want more details? View the Elective Adventures presentation provided by the BSA. Note: this presentation was done in November 2023. Be sure to check the Cub Scout Program Updates for the most up-to-date information.


The National Summertime Pack Award, World Conservation Award, Range/Target Sports, and STEM awards have all been rolled into Adventures. This gives Scouts more of a chance to participate and explore these great programs, while giving leaders more guidance on incorporating them into their programs. 

Webelos and Arrow of Light

Previously, the Webelos program covered Scouts in both 4th and 5th grades. Both grades worked on the same electives from the same handbook. 

Beginning in June 2024, the program will be broken into two distinct programs – Webelos (4th grade) and Arrow of Light (5th) grade. Each program will have their own separate adventures and their own separate handbooks.

While Webelos Dens may be co-ed, Arrow of Light Dens needs to be single-gender to best prepare the Scouts for their Scouts BSA Troops.

Arrow of Light (AOL) will focus on preparing youth for Scouts BSA Troops and will now be the year that Scouts transition to the tan BSA uniform. There is no neckerchief for AOL Scouts and their handbook will contain AOL adventures and requirements for the Scout rank in Scouts BSA.



The Lion and Tiger books have been revised to more age-appropriate and engaging reading for Scouts at this age. Both will be similar to the workbook format of the pre-2024 Lion workbooks and will have a corresponding adult partner guide.

The Lion Badge will now be diamond shaped.

As part of the handbook updates, an extremely comprehensive set of online resources will be launched to support the new adventures.

Each adventure will be detailed and parents and leaders will see various options from which to choose. These options will provide information to make meeting planning easier; including timing, tips, material requirements, and more.

Note: the online resources are not scheduled to be available until the official start of the program in June. Resources can be accessed through QR codes found in the handbooks.